Help and reference line 1 800 630-0907 514 630-0907

How to help a friend or loved one

How to help a friend or loved one

Living with someone suffering from an eating disorder is often very difficult. An eating disorder is a complex illness that brings a lot of negative emotions to the person who suffers from it, but also to the sufferer’s loved ones. Family and friends often go through incomprehension, a sense of powerlessness, and frustration. Nonetheless, it is not useful to blame the person going through the eating disorder. Strangely, the eating disorder can be comforting to the sufferer. Be sure to put aside your guilt. Many external factors also contribute to the origins of the disorder.

What should you say? How should you act?

First, it is helpful to better understand eating disorders. Get as much information about them as possible. Don’t let the sufferer’s problem become your problem, too! If you can’t seem to guide the sufferer in the right direction towards recovery, you can still support them by listening and trying to understand what they’re going through, without being judgemental. Eating disorders are often a cry for help; deep inside, your loved one is sensitive to your concern and thankful for your openness.

It may come as a surprise, but eating disorders have nothing to do with food. It is important to avoid pressuring the person to eat, offering rewards for eating, or thinking that the situation is improving because the person has gained a bit of weight. Comments regarding food and weight are not only futile, but they can even worsen the problem by reinforcing the sufferer’s obsessive behaviour.

Avoid conversations that focus on appearances and comments that can reinforce body image obsession.

Express your feelings without being judgemental. Make sure you speak in the first person, using “I” statements. Do not start these discussions during mealtimes. Choose a time when everyone is calm. Then, you can say, “I worry when you isolate yourself” rather than, “I think you have an eating disorder and should seek help.” It is crucial to avoid reinforcing the person’s feeling of powerlessness. Instead, focus on their ability to make their own decisions. More than anything, the person is entitled to their privacy.

If you have reason to believe that the person’s health is seriously threatened, seek help. It is often necessary to consult specialists, as many people with eating disorders can deny having a problem or refuse help. Even if your loved one accuses you of betrayal, remember that confidentiality no longer applies when there is evidence of potential physical harm.

Do not attempt to take on the role of a therapist; you will almost certainly fail. You may unintentionally reinforce negative behaviours related to eating disorders. Do not hesitate to seek help for yourself. Eating disorders affect everyone connected to the sufferer, so it is important to have support during this difficult period.

Since our society fosters the development of eating disorders, question yourself about your own attitude about this global obsession with thinness. Are you on a diet? Do you exercise just to lose weight? When you meet someone for the first time, do you think about their weight and body shape? If you gained one or two kilograms, would your self-esteem be affected? What role do negative and positive comments about appearance and weight have in your life? It’s helpful to gain insight into your own fears with respect to thinness.

ANEB offers many services to provide support to you during this difficult time. Don’t hesitate to contact us for more information about eating disorders or to share what you’re going through.

CHARITY NUMBER: 89 141 4195 RR 0001

Ligne d'écoute 1 800 630-0907 514 630-0907

Aider un proche

Comment aider un ami ou un être cher

Vivre avec une personne souffrant d’un trouble alimentaire est souvent très difficile. Le trouble alimentaire est une maladie complexe qui apporte son lot d’émotions pour la personne qui en souffre, mais également pour les proches de ces personnes. La famille et les amis vivent souvent de l’incompréhension, de l’impuissance et de la frustration. Toutefois, il est inutile de blâmer la personne pour ce qui arrive. Étrangement, son trouble alimentaire lui apporte un certain réconfort. Par ailleurs, mettez de côté votre culpabilité. De nombreux facteurs extérieurs à vous sont à l’origine de cette situation.

Quoi dire? Comment agir?

D’abord, il est aidant de mieux comprendre les troubles alimentaires. Renseignez-vous sur la problématique. Ne vous laissez pas envahir par le problème de l’autre! Si vous ne pouvez déclencher sa rémission, vous pouvez cependant le soutenir en l’écoutant et en essayant de comprendre ce que la personne vit, sans jugement. Les troubles alimentaires sont souvent un appel à l’aide; au fond, la personne aimée est sensible à votre inquiétude et reconnaissante de votre ouverture.

Surprise : les troubles alimentaires n’ont rien à voir avec la nourriture! Évitez d’inciter la personne à manger, d’offrir des récompenses si elle se nourrit ou de penser que la situation s’améliore parce que la personne prend du poids. Les commentaires à l’égard de la nourriture et du poids sont inutiles et peuvent même encourager l’obsession de la personne.

Évitez les conversations portant sur l’apparence et les commentaires pouvant renforcer l’obsession de l’image corporelle.

Exprimez vos sentiments, et non des jugements. Parlez au « Je », n’entamez pas de discussion lors des repas et choisissez un moment où tout le monde est calme. Ainsi, vous pouvez dire « Je m’inquiète lorsque je te vois t’isoler des autres » plutôt que « Je pense que tu as un trouble alimentaire et que tu dois aller chercher de l’aide ». Il importe d’encourager la personne à faire des choix pour elle-même. Plus que tout, elle a droit à son intimité.

Si vous croyez que sa santé est sérieusement menacée, allez chercher de l’aide. Il est souvent nécessaire de consulter des spécialistes, puisque beaucoup de personnes atteintes nient le fait qu’elles ont un problème. Même si l’être cher vous accuse d’avoir trahi son secret, les règles de la confidentialité n’existent plus lorsqu’il y a un danger physique pour la personne.

Ne jouez pas au thérapeute : ce serait un échec. Vous pourriez renforcer certains comportements négatifs malgré vous. N’hésitez pas à aller chercher de l’aide pour vous-même. Le trouble alimentaire touche tous les membres de l’entourage, et il est important que vous soyez soutenu durant cette période difficile.

Notre société favorisant le développement des troubles alimentaires, interrogez-vous sur votre propre attitude concernant cette obsession de la minceur mondiale. Suivez-vous un régime? Faites-vous de l’exercice pour perdre du poids? Lorsque vous rencontrez quelqu’un pour la première fois, est-ce sa silhouette qui vous frappe? Si vous prenez un ou deux kilos, votre estime personnelle en est-elle affectée? Quelles places prennent les commentaires positifs ou négatifs en lien avec l’apparence et le poids?

Plusieurs services sont offerts par ANEB afin de vous soutenir dans ce moment difficile. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous souhaitez plus d’informations concernant les troubles alimentaires ou si vous souhaitez partager ce que vous vivez en lien avec cette problématique.